Topographical Map
A Map of The Malay Peninsula 1898
Map shows State of Johor, Federated Malay State under British Protection (edged pink) of Pahang, Negri Sembilan and Sungai Ujong which subsequently became part of Negri Sembilan, British Territories of Malacca and Singapore, boundaries defined by survey and undefined boundaries, cart roads, bridle roads and paths, railway between Seremban and Port Dickson, proposed railways, rivers and streams, islands, the coastline of Sumatra, gold and tin locations, highland shading, towns, kampongs, "Unexplored Hill Country" in Johore, Sungei Johor, Sungei Muar, Riau Islands, Singapore Town, Johor Bahru, Malacca Town, Kota Tinggi, Bandar Maharanee (Muar), Kuala Pilah, Tampin, Raffles Lighthouse, Pedra Branca/Horsburg Lighthouse, Pulau Pisang Lighthouse, and others.
20050000682 - 0013_D2017_000065_6_NAN
Miko_1578 RO
Bottom right portion of set of maps D2017_000065_1 to D2017_000065_6_NAN
Similar map found in TM000405_6 and D2018_000149_5_RGS
Compiled by and published for the Straits Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society
Prepared and drawn by John van Cuylenburg
Published by Edward Stanford
Application for use (and request for copies) has to be made directly with copyright owner.
Any request for use or reproduction of the map, please contact
Do you have more information on this record?

Request to View

A Map of The Malay Peninsula 1898

Explore the archives