Media Division, Ministry of Information & The Arts, 36th Storey, PSA Building, 460 Alexandra Road, Singapore 0511. Tel: 2799794/5.

Release No.: 05/SEP 02-0/91/09/05

PRESS STATEMENT FROM THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE

The Prime Minister and his Cabinet colleagues will be sworn into office by the President at 12.00 noon on Saturday, 7 September 1991.

The following are members of the new Cabinet:

Mr Goh Chok Tong - Prime Minister

Mr Lee Kuan Yew - Senior Minister

Prime Minister's Office

Mr Ong Teng Cheong - Deputy Prime Minister

BG Lee Hsien Loong - Deputy Prime Minister and

Minister for Trade and Industry

Mr S Dhanabalan - Minister for National Development

Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam - Minister for Education

Dr Ahmad Mattar - Minister for the Environment

(also Minister-in-Charge of Muslim

Affairs)

Dr Yeo Ning Hong - Minister for Defence

Prof S Jayakumar - Minister for Law and

Minister for Home Affairs

Dr Richard Hu Tsu Tau - Minister for Finance

Mr Lee Yock Suan - Minister for Labour and

Second Minister for Education

Mr Wong Kan Seng - Minister for Foreign Affairs

Mr Yeo Cheow Tong - Minister for Health and

Minister for Community Development

BG George Yong-Boon Yeo - Minister for Information and the Arts and Second Minister for Foreign

Affairs

Dr Lee Boon Yang - Minister in Prime Minister's Office

and Second Minister for Defence

Mr Mah Bow Tan - Minister for Communications

The other office-holders who will also be appointed with effect from 7 September 1991 are:

Senior Ministers of State

Dr Tay Eng Soon - Ministry of Education

Mr Ch'ng Jit Koon - Ministry of Community Development

Mr Lim Boon Heng - Ministry of Trade and Industry

Ministers of State

Dr Aline K Wong - Ministry of Health

Mr Sidek Saniff - Ministry of Education

Mr Lim Hng Kiang - Ministry of National Development

Senior Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr Lee Yiok Seng - Ministry of National Development

Mr Ho Kah Leong - Ministry of Information and the Arts

Parliamentary Secretaries

Mr Yatiman Yusof - Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Dr Ong Chit Chung - Ministry of Home Affairs and the

Ministry of Labour

Mr Mohamad Maidin Ministry of Information and the

Packer Mohd - Arts

Mr Matthias Yao Chih - Ministry of Defence

Political Secretaries

Mr Zulkifli Mohammed - To Dy Prime Minister (Mr Ong Teng

Cheong)

Mr Harun Ghani - To Minister for Home Affairs

Mr Tang Guan Seng - To Prime Minister

Dr Ker Sin Tze will be appointed Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and the Arts and the Ministry of Education with effect from 2 January 1992 for a period of two years for specific assignments, after which he wishes to continue with his present work.

Dr Tony Tan will relinquish his portfolio on 31 December 1991. Mr S Dhanabalan will relinquish his portfolio in 12 months' time. Both Dr Tan and Mr Dhanabalan have for some time, before the General Elections, been requesting the Prime Minister to allow them to step down as they wish to return to the private sector. They had requested not to be fielded in the recent General Elections but had agreed to the Prime Minister's request that they stay on to contest the elections as part of the Prime Minister's team. The Prime Minister has reluctantly agreed to their request that they relinquish their ministerial portfolios and return to their careers in the private sector.

PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE 5 SEPTEMBER 1991

PMO(2)/PRSEP05.'91/pGS.1-3